Syon Abbey: an outline chronology

1391	Canonization of St Bridget of Sweden.
1406	Henry Lord FitzHugh at Vadstena announces intention to found a Bridgettine monastery.
1415	Foundation of Syon Abbey at Twickenhamby Henry V.
1420	First professions at Syon.
1431	Community moves to new site in Isleworth and is re-enclosed.
1481	Thomas Betson resigns as rector of Wimbish prior to entering Syon to become the brothers' librarian.
1488	Consecration of abbey church.
1500	Betson's <i>Profitable treatise</i> printed by Wynkyn De Worde.
1533	Syon named in the trial of Elizabeth Barton, the 'Holy Maid of Kent'.
1535	Execution of Syon brother, Richard Reynolds.
1539	Expulsion of community and granting of pensions.
1557	Syon returns to England under queen Mary.
1559	Death of Mary; community begins its exile in the Low Countries.
1576	Death of abbess Katherine Palmer.
1580	Following sack of Mechelen, community leaves Spanish Netherlands for Rouen.
1584	Profession of Seth Foster, and his election as Confessor General.
1594	Henri IV becomes king of France; Syon community leaves for Lisbon.
1599	Community established in its own premises in Mocambo, Lisbon.
1640	Portugal declares independence from Spain.
1651	Convent destroyed by fire.
1695	Death of George Griffin, the last brother of Syon.
1755	Lisbon earthquake.
1791	Roman Catholic Relief Act permits catholic worship in England.
1809	Failed attempt at return to England under abbess Dorothy Halford.
1840	Publication of Aungier's History and Antiquities of Syon Monastery.
1861	Return of Syon Abbey to England, initially at Spetisbury (Dorset).
1886	Beatification of Richard Reynolds.
1887	Community moves to Chudleigh.
1925	Community moves to Marley House, South Brent.
1970	Canonization of Richard Reynolds.
1990	Community moves to specially-designed accommodation in converted stables of Marley House.
2011	Syon Abbey closes.
2015	Celebrations for sexcentenary of Syon Abbey's foundation.